• Ropers Battle For Big Payouts

    #10.5 winners at the World Series of Team Roping qualifier "Title Fights" were Billy Pipes and Dale Martin. (C Bar C/Ric Andersen Photography) Click photo for full story...

  • High Selling Horse Moves To California

    Jason Hershberger shows high-selling horse "Streakin Hawaii" to his new owners, John and Jessica Jaureguito of Livermore, Calif. Click photo for full story...

  • WSTR Qualifier in King City

    Caden Clay and Matt Costa won the #14.5 WSTR; Darrick Hoskins and Joey Acevedo, #13.5 winners; and Dakota Haarsager and Steve Simons, #11.5 winners. Click photo for full story.

  • World Champions Crowned at IFR

    Justin Thigpen was not only the IPRA World Champion Tie-Down Roper and Steer Wrestler, he also won the All-Around (Photo by Way Out West Photography) Click photo for full story...

AGUA DULCE, CA – The 3rd Annual Nick Dashnaw Memorial Roping was held May 27 at the JPK Arena in beautiful Agua Dulce.

This truly amazing event was held in honor of Nick’s memory and the continued “Fight Against Drugs.” Nick Dashnaw was a talented stuntman, a rodeo cowboy and served in the United States Coast Guard. His life story is amazing and full of many different accomplishments. It’s hard to believe all he did in just a short 29 years. And even though his life was full of so much good, he sadly was not able to escape the hold that addiction can have on a precious life.

Nick was loved by so many people and it was evident again this year by the huge turnout of ropers and spectators. Nick’s family continues to build the fund to increase awareness and help those who struggle with addiction. This year the Nicky D Memorial Fund will be donating to Bryan’s Smile, a nonprofit organization educating adolescents, young adults and their families about substance abuse and depression that can lead to potential drug abuse. Visit their website at Bryanssmile.com

This year’s memorial roping was put together by Shawn Howell, Brian Brown, the Dashnaw family and friends. As with the previous ropings this is truly a labor of love. The day consisted of an open roping, a five-steer draw, men’s and women’s ribbon roping (which is always a highlight for both participants and spectators). This year we added a couples three-legged race that had a photo finish with some serious competitors! There was also a live auction, raffles, the In-N-Out Burger truck for lunch, a taco truck for dinner, a petting zoo and a shaved ice truck for the kids. The evening ended with dancing and live music by the Craig Carter Band who came all the way out from Texas for the third year in a row.

We would like to thank the amazing people who made this all happen by donating their time, money, prizes, awards and the great food and drinks.  Thank you to Shawn Howell, Brian Brown, Jerry Koopman who generously donated the arena and ground prep, Wilmer Valderrama, Cactus Saddlery, Best Ever Pads, Clint Mortenson Silver and Saddles, Fox Feed, Heel-O-Matic, Josh Love, Rosemary Harrison, Sue Porter, Kona Shaved Ice (Mandy and Josh), Veronica Brown, Teri Garland Leonard, the Craig Carter Band, Chris Stafford, Travis and Lindy Gorham, Robert Rodriguez, Mic and Robyn Rogers, Jay Hooker,  HP Evetts, Bonnie Happy, Ben and Tracey Scott, Sally Ives, Rex Ives, Johnny Ives, Jared Clark, Tiffany Prather, Tina Dearmore, the Shumates, FastHouse, Brand X Stunts, the United Stuntwoman’s Association, Stuntmens Association of Motion Pictures, Stunts Unlimited, Tim Rigby, Al Goto, Clay and Sandy Lilley (Movin on Livestock), Michelle Miguel, Philp Jebbia, Waste Management, Louis Dargenzio and the Davisons. 

High point roper of the day was JT Prather, who won a saddle donated by Cactus Saddlery. High point header and heeler of the Open Draw won rifles donated by Clay Lilley of Moving On Livestock: header Billy Horner and heeler, JT Prather. Bits went to each go round winner: 1st go: HP Evetts and JT Prather. 2nd go: Billy Horner and Shawn Howell. 3rd go: Dusty Parrott and Monty Jo Petska. 4th go: Cash Parrott and Craig Branham. 5th go: Brian Brown and Brad Bishop.

In the Ribbon Roping, buckles went to winners of each division. Men’s division winners were Dalton Curly and Dar Perez. Shawn Howell and Lindy Gorham won the Mixed division.

Winners of the three-legged race were Jeff and Joy Dashnaw. High point buckle winners of Monday’s ACTRA roping were Braden Israel, header, and Chad Dashnaw, heeler.