• Minor Brothers Strike Major Win Off Bucket List

    The Minor brothers, Riley and Brady, had a super day in Casa Grande. They won $31,880 in cash for their win of the Mike Cervi Memorial Open Roping February 20. Click photo for full story...

  • 5th Annual National Team Roping Tour Finals

    Ivan Hernandez was the truck winner in the #8.5 Truck Roping held March 9 during the NTR Finals (Andersen C Bar C Photography). Click photo for full story...

  • Tyler West Rides To Jr. Ironman Title

    Mertzon, Texas cowboy Tyler West not only won the Junior Ironman title at the Cinch Timed Event Championship, he also set three arena records, won $11,000 in cash as well as many great awards (James Phifer, RodeoBum.com) Click photo for full story.

  • Four Win Buckles At Shane Dunning Memorial

    Shelby Dunning (third from right) and her cousin Denton Dunning (third from left) present buckles to (l to r): Trent Wagner and Wyatt Bullivant, #7 winners; and Jerritt Wagner and Marv Barton, #5 winners at the Shane Dunning Memorial Roping. Click photo for full story...


ODESSA, TX – The 27th Annual Sandhills Invitational Team and Match Roping took place on Tuesday, January 8, at the Ector County Coliseum. This roping has turned into one of the favorites for professional cowboys hoping to start the new year with some extra cash in their jeans.
The main event is the Open Roping that is a five head for $600/team. Cody Snow and Wesley Thorp, fresh off a great showing at the 2018 NFR, put together five great runs in a time of 32.01 seconds to split the first place payoff of $15,000.
Also held was a Pro-Am Header and Pro-Am Heeler jackpot with saddles to the winning Am in each pot. Daniel Alvarado with Ryan Motes at the pipes won the headers saddle and JC Lucero heeled for Dustin Egusquiza to win the heeler’s saddle.
An American Qualifier and Match Roping was also held.
Complete results follow, payoff is per team.
open roping:
1st. go: 1. Trevor Brazile and Patrick Smith, 6.59, $2,400.
Short go: 1. Clay Tryan and Travis Graves, 5.13, $1,200.
Average: 1. Cody Snow and Wesley Thorp, 32.01, $15,000. 2. Kolton Schmidt and Hunter Koch, 32.76, $12,550. 3. Lane Ivy and Ryan Motes, 34.68, $9,500. 4. Trevor Brazile and Bille Jack Seabens, 36.00, $6,300. 5. Andrew Ward and Kollin VonAhn, 36.26, $5,250. 6. Trey Blackmore and Wyatt Hansen, 37.83, $3,700.
The american qualifier
The top 10 teams qualified.
Average: 1. Lane Ivy and Ryan Motes, 27.58, $3,260. 2. Trevor Brazile and Billie Jack Sabeans, 30.4, $2,540. 3. Clay Tryan and Jade Corkill, 30.4, $1,450. 4. Coleman Proctor and Ryan Motes, 31.32. 5. Garrett Chick and Ross Ashford, 31.36. 6. Clay Tryan and Travis Graves, 33.15. 7. Colby Lovell and Travis Graves, 33.58. 8. Tyler Bach and Trey Johnson, 33.59. 9. Jake Cooper and Caleb Anderson, 39.32. 10. Matt Sherwood and Tyler Worley, 40.76.
 Pro-Am Headers
 1st. go: 1. Cayden McFadden and Walt Woodard, 7.01, $850.
Short go: 1. Oscar Duran and Travis Graves, 6.4, $850.
Average: 1. Daniel Alvarado and Ryan Motes, 26.06, $4,725. 2. Oscar Lares and Travis Woodard, 27.48, $2,830. 3. Oscar Duran and Travis Graves, 37.59, $1,895.
pro-am heelers
 1st. go: 1. Dustin Egusquiza and JC Lucero, 6.58, $850.
Short go: 1. Clay Smith and Cory Lloyd, 6.11, $850.
Average: 1. Dustin Egusquiza and JC Lucero, 25.97, $4,320. 2. Luke Brown and Marcos A. Bustamonte, 26.52, $2,130.
A Match Roping was also held and the winners were Kaleb Driggers and Junior Nogueira.

Cody Snow (center) and Wesley Thorp (second from right) roped their five steers in 32.01 seconds to win the Sandhills Invitational Open Roping and $15,000. – Dudley Barker Photo