By Sharon Camarillo
Special To Ropers Sports News

CORNING, CALIF. (Rolling Hills Equestrian Center) July 9-11, 2021 – Congratulations to our 30th Anniversary contestants and divisional winners.
More than $75,000 was paid out in cash and awards, including 10 award places and equal cash payout in each Division.
The 115-degree weather contributed to fierce competition and many fun and Fast Times inside and out of the arena! In order to accommodate the challenging conditions the start times of the 30th Anniversary of the Sharon Camarillo Western Barrel Racing Classic were modified to begin competition in the early morning. Terry Skevington, manager of the Rolling Hills Equestrian Center, home of the Classic competition for the last five years, was more than congenial, bringing in his crew to accommodate the earlier start times.
Thank you to Jeff Jantz, Marketing Manager and his staff at the Rolling Hills Casino, our title sponsor, for facilitating the inviting atmosphere and giving each of the 102 contestants the feeling of a home court advantage, not to mention a cash bonus to each of the 40 Divisional Award Winners.
The Classic contest is a result of an idea that Debbie Wood Mathews, Carolyn Sproul and I had in the early days of Sharon Camarillo Clinic Productions. The dream was to produce a simulated National Finals Rodeo type contest for students who came through the Clinic programs and may have never had the opportunity to experience the thrill of professional competition. Every detail from the selection of  the legend Bob Feist, our first Classic announcer, Kenneth Springer Hall of Fame Barrel Racing photographer, National Anthem and Welcome taped by none other than Reba McEntire. Reba began her illustrious career by singing the National Anthem at my first National Finals Rodeo, a moment I will always hold dear and one I wanted to share with my students. Each of our rodeo professionals helped set the stage for celebration and tradition followed by a mounted grand entry representing 11 state flags. Our ultimate goal was to showcase our students’ skills and passion for the sport of barrel racing with awards and cash incentives. The first Classic was held at the fairgrounds in Gardnerville, Nevada, and established before the divisional race concept that we know today, consisted of  Junior, Senior and Open classes. By the third year of Classic competition we implemented National Barrel Horse Association Divisional rules, modifying the NBHA structure to experiment with the first ever 4D payout.

Success regardless of the goal is merely a culmination of hard work, tenacity and continued vision. Many of our great sponsors who supported our vision in 1991 are still with us today. Our loyal sponsors are the backbone of our longevity.
Becoming the best at what we choose to do is the result of establishing a consistent routine structured for excellence in everyday efforts. Early on, I heard a father tell his young daughter, “The only thing that stands between you and what you want to do, is YOU!”
I join with our sponsors, our Classic staff, Debbie and Mark Mathews; co-instructors Donna Irvin and Cheryl Price; arena staff, Jim Price, Don Pederson, Jenny and Tom Hull, Sue Engelhardt, Cyndy Smith and our arena director Steve Oliveira in saying we are proud of our students. Watching them smile in the winner’s circle is our greatest reward.
For the fourth time, Olivia Train, Myrtle Point, Oregon riding Ought To Streak took the Grand Champion Reinsman Saddle. Donna Irvin, one of two contestants to ride in both the Western and Eastern Classic riding Alabama Hanna took the Reserve 1D Champion Montana Silversmiths Buckle. 2D Champion Katie Roach, riding Cool Texas Jet. 3D Teagan Quigley, Classic rookie, riding Slick. 4D Champion, Kinsey Archer riding Wanna Be a Rock Star.
Each divisional champion received a Reinsman custom trophy saddle and matching breast collar.
Fastest Time Memorial Award, Senior and Appreciation Race went to Shirley Coop­er riding Count N On Profit, Toutle, Washington.
Complete results, including Junior Rider Race, Senior Rider Race, Open Rider Race, Farm TEC Target Race can be found on Camarillo Western Classic.
On a personal note, my sincere appreciation to Jeanette Emery, McKinleyville, California and Lauren Pai, Lincoln, California, who competed in all 30 Western Team Camarillo Classics and received a Gist Silversmiths commemorative buckle for their efforts.
First to Enter Angela Gordon. Travel The Furthest Award to Branda Collister from Saguache, Colorado.
Mark your calendars for the 31st Annual Western Team Camarillo Classic July 8-10, 2022.
Additional information on Facebook; Camarillo Western Classic/Team Camarillo.

More than $75,000 in cash and awards including equal money was paid in all divisions at the Camarillo Western Team Classic. Event producer, Sharon Camarillo (c) with the winners left to right: 1D-Olivia Train, Myrtle Point, Ore., riding Ought To Streak; 2D-Katie Roach, Fort Bragg, Calif., riding Cool Texas Jet: 3D:-Teagan Quigley, Elk Grove, Calif. riding Slick and 4D-Kinsey Archer, Galt, Calif., riding Wanna Be A Rock Star. – Michael Killingbeck/Full Gallop Photo